streaming

Windows related discussion about netjukebox
Post Reply
mephistois

streaming

Post by mephistois » Mon Jan 10, 2005 2:58 pm

hi. this thing is great. thanxx very much for that. :D

I only have a problem: streaming don`t work. :(

can somebody tell me how to configure this ?? :?:
i allrady the en/decoders (.exe) but it didn`t work.
when i klick on stream nothing happens.

thanxx for your help.

sorry for my bad english but i'am austrian.

User avatar
wbartels
netjukebox developer
Posts: 790
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 3:12 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by wbartels » Mon Jan 10, 2005 4:03 pm

Streaming works best with Winamp.
I have tested it with lame.exe 3.96.1 witch you can download from http://mitiok.cjb.net/
Place lame.exe in D:\Console\Codec\lame.exe or change the configuration file netjukebox/include/config.inc.php

For streaming from other formats I have tested it with:
oggdec 1.01 for streaming mp3 from .ogg files
flac.exe 1.1.1 for streaming mp3 form .flac files
mppdec 1.95e for streaming mp3 from .mpc files (when skipping streaming the cmd and mppdec are not closed)

To make it easier I will make a codec pack with the right encoder/decoder versions :)

User avatar
wbartels
netjukebox developer
Posts: 790
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 3:12 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: streaming

Post by wbartels » Tue Jan 11, 2005 5:37 pm

mephistois wrote:hi. this thing is great. thanxx very much for that. :D

I only have a problem: streaming don`t work. :(

can somebody tell me how to configure this ?? :?:
i allrady the en/decoders (.exe) but it didn`t work.
when i klick on stream nothing happens.

thanxx for your help.

sorry for my bad english but i'am austrian.
Are you using IIS 6 ?
By default IIS don't let you execute a file with the PHP commands:
exec() , passthru(), etc...

First try a simple script like this:

Code: Select all

<?php
exec ('D:\Console\Codec\lame.exe --decode "D:\temp\test.mp3" "D:\temp\test.wav"');
?>
If this script works without any problems, than streaming should also work.

User avatar
wbartels
netjukebox developer
Posts: 790
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 3:12 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by wbartels » Wed Jan 12, 2005 12:04 pm

I found this on the internet:

Code: Select all

I am using IIS6 and PHP 4.3.2-RC. Any time I try to use the exec() or
system() functions to run an external program, I get the "Unable to
Fork" error. I have execute rights on the applicaiton I am trying to
run. The problem is PHP prepends "cmd.exe /c" to any exec() or system()
calls. That means I need to give cmd.exe execute rights for the
anonymous web user account. This opens up a HUGE security breach, and I
was wondering if there are any plans to stop PHP from prepending that or
workarounds for the Unable to Fork error. I know many people must run
into this problem, there has to be a way around it!
This can be a security risk, but then streaming works:
Give "C:\WINDOS\system32\cmd.exe" read & execute rights for IUSR_xxx
If you found another solution, I'm very interested.

highmighty
User
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 6:58 pm
Location: Montreal, QUEBEC
Contact:

Post by highmighty » Thu Apr 28, 2005 9:28 pm

wbartels wrote:This can be a security risk, but then streaming works:
Give "C:\WINDOS\system32\cmd.exe" read & execute rights for IUSR_xxx
If you found another solution, I'm very interested.
Does this mean that you can't use the stream feature of Netjukebox on a Windows FAT system with IIS6 ?

User avatar
wbartels
netjukebox developer
Posts: 790
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 3:12 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by wbartels » Thu Apr 28, 2005 9:42 pm

highmighty wrote:
wbartels wrote:This can be a security risk, but then streaming works:
Give "C:\WINDOS\system32\cmd.exe" read & execute rights for IUSR_xxx
If you found another solution, I'm very interested.
Does this mean that you can't use the stream feature of Netjukebox on a Windows FAT system with IIS6 ?
Yes you can.
But why do you still use the FAT file system?
It is easy to convert to NTFS:

Code: Select all

convert drive_letter: /fs:ntfs

highmighty
User
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2005 6:58 pm
Location: Montreal, QUEBEC
Contact:

Re: streaming

Post by highmighty » Thu Apr 28, 2005 11:46 pm

wbartels wrote:

Code: Select all

<?php
exec ('D:\Console\Codec\lame.exe --decode "D:\temp\test.mp3" "D:\temp\test.wav"');
?>
If this script works without any problems, than streaming should also work.
I tried this little code on my machine running IIS6 with Win2k3, I get a blank page without any errors... but no .WAV file created :cry:

That's too bad...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest