Error Reporting?

Locked
Shizzle
User
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 9:00 am
Location: Gresham, OR USA
Contact:

Error Reporting?

Post by Shizzle »

Is there a way to turn on error reporting? For some reason I get Internet Explorer / Firefox to beep at me or freeze on an artist and album during the update on the structure/bitmap. I check the structure and the images and they are correct according to the file structure as per NJB requirements.

So what I have to do is temporarily remove those troublesome files to another location. They never have had this problem before. So just curious about error reporting.

If not then I will play around with the troublesome files to see what is triggering it in the mean time.

Thanks Willem,
User avatar
wbartels
netjukebox developer
Posts: 872
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 3:12 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by wbartels »

I haven't changed anything to the update process, but only to the internet image update (netjukebox 3.77).

Because of the page layout, any PHP error message comes below the visual screen.
So you have to scroll down.

"File info" in the update screen shows the file before it get processed by getID3().
If the update process stops by a file, this file has problem to get processed by getID3().
Most likely this file would be corrupt.

To be absolutely shore (flush problem) read the HTML source.
The problem file is displayed on the bottom of the HTML source.
Here's an example:
If file E:/Media/Music/1 Giant leap/2002 - 1 Giant leap/10 - All alone.mpc has troubles it would look like this:

Code: Select all

...
...
...
<script type="text/javascript">document.getElementById('fileinfo').innerHTML="E:/Media/Music/1 Giant leap/2002 - 1 Giant leap/01 - Dunya salam.mpc";</script><script type="text/javascript">document.getElementById('fileinfo').innerHTML='<img src="skin/default/img/animated_progress.gif" alt="" width="19" height="13" border="0">';</script>
<script type="text/javascript">document.getElementById('fileinfo').innerHTML="E:/Media/Music/1 Giant leap/2002 - 1 Giant leap/02 - My culture.mpc";</script><script type="text/javascript">document.getElementById('fileinfo').innerHTML='<img src="skin/default/img/animated_progress.gif" alt="" width="19" height="13" border="0">';</script>
<script type="text/javascript">document.getElementById('fileinfo').innerHTML="E:/Media/Music/1 Giant leap/2002 - 1 Giant leap/03 - The way you dream.mpc";</script><script type="text/javascript">document.getElementById('fileinfo').innerHTML='<img src="skin/default/img/animated_progress.gif" alt="" width="19" height="13" border="0">';</script>
<script type="text/javascript">document.getElementById('fileinfo').innerHTML="E:/Media/Music/1 Giant leap/2002 - 1 Giant leap/04 - Ma' Africa.mpc";</script><script type="text/javascript">document.getElementById('fileinfo').innerHTML='<img src="skin/default/img/animated_progress.gif" alt="" width="19" height="13" border="0">';</script>
<script type="text/javascript">document.getElementById('fileinfo').innerHTML="E:/Media/Music/1 Giant leap/2002 - 1 Giant leap/05 - Braided hair.mpc";</script><script type="text/javascript">document.getElementById('fileinfo').innerHTML='<img src="skin/default/img/animated_progress.gif" alt="" width="19" height="13" border="0">';</script>
<script type="text/javascript">document.getElementById('fileinfo').innerHTML="E:/Media/Music/1 Giant leap/2002 - 1 Giant leap/06 - Ta moko.mpc";</script><script type="text/javascript">document.getElementById('fileinfo').innerHTML='<img src="skin/default/img/animated_progress.gif" alt="" width="19" height="13" border="0">';</script>
<script type="text/javascript">document.getElementById('fileinfo').innerHTML="E:/Media/Music/1 Giant leap/2002 - 1 Giant leap/07 - Bushes.mpc";</script><script type="text/javascript">document.getElementById('fileinfo').innerHTML='<img src="skin/default/img/animated_progress.gif" alt="" width="19" height="13" border="0">';</script>
<script type="text/javascript">document.getElementById('fileinfo').innerHTML="E:/Media/Music/1 Giant leap/2002 - 1 Giant leap/08 - Passion.mpc";</script><script type="text/javascript">document.getElementById('fileinfo').innerHTML='<img src="skin/default/img/animated_progress.gif" alt="" width="19" height="13" border="0">';</script>
<script type="text/javascript">document.getElementById('fileinfo').innerHTML="E:/Media/Music/1 Giant leap/2002 - 1 Giant leap/09 - Daphne.mpc";</script><script type="text/javascript">document.getElementById('fileinfo').innerHTML='<img src="skin/default/img/animated_progress.gif" alt="" width="19" height="13" border="0">';</script>
<script type="text/javascript">document.getElementById('fileinfo').innerHTML="E:/Media/Music/1 Giant leap/2002 - 1 Giant leap/10 - All alone.mpc";</script>
Shizzle
User
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 9:00 am
Location: Gresham, OR USA
Contact:

Post by Shizzle »

wbartels wrote:Because of the page layout, any PHP error message comes below the visual screen.
So you have to scroll down.
Yeah that has happened to me before and it was the images that were having the problem and I fixed them issued resolved. However this time on the update I don't get that so I can't scroll down.

I will check out the source code when it happens

Thanks Willem.
Shizzle
User
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 9:00 am
Location: Gresham, OR USA
Contact:

Post by Shizzle »

Anyone know of a utility that will check to see if any music media files are corrupt or not?
User avatar
wbartels
netjukebox developer
Posts: 872
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 3:12 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by wbartels »

Have you installed Zend Optimizer?
A friend had some problems with minimal corrupted mp3's (that could be played) in combination with Zend Optimizer.
After removing Zend Optimizer the update had no problems.
Shizzle wrote:Anyone know of a utility that will check to see if any music media files are corrupt or not?
For mpc files I have used mpcscan: http://www.musepack.net/index.php?pg=win
The hydrogenaudio forum is a good place to look further: http://www.hydrogenaudio.org
Shizzle
User
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 9:00 am
Location: Gresham, OR USA
Contact:

Post by Shizzle »

Not sure if I have the Zend Optimizer installed or not will phpinfo.php tell me if it is? I use a bundled webserver called XAMPP info here http://www.apachefriends.org/en/

phpinfo does tell me that I have the Zend Engine 2.0.5
I think that it is installed as default

in my php.ini file there is this
zend_optimizer.enable_loader = 0

which I think that I have to possible enable the loader even though the optimizer is running? :wink:

Also I checked out those links but not really sure if that mpcscan will work cause I don't know what mpc files are I just have the regular mp3 wma and some ogg and m4a files in my collection

I was wondering if the reason that I get beeps from the browser is because the files that are windows media audio don't have the licenses to play them which I have to download again. Do you think this is causing this? I hate DRM Licenses :evil:

Would this work if I added this line to the njb files?

Code: Select all

error_reporting(E_ALL ^ E_NOTICE);
saw it in some other php scripts that I use.

Thanks again Willem
User avatar
wbartels
netjukebox developer
Posts: 872
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 3:12 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by wbartels »

To disable the Zend optimizer I Would commend out or delete the whole Zend optimizer configuration in the php.ini.
Most likely this is on the end off the php.ini file.
Don't forget to restart the webserver :wink:

What you also can do is to disable all media extensions in the config.inc.php file.
And the enable only one extension and than update the database.
This way you see with what extensions you have problems with.

For example start with mp3 files, than the config.inc.php will look like this:

Code: Select all

//  +---------------------------------------------------------------------------+
//  | Media extensions                                                          |
//  +---------------------------------------------------------------------------+
//$cfg['media_extension'][]          = 'aac';
//$cfg['media_extension'][]          = 'ape';
//$cfg['media_extension'][]          = 'flac';
//$cfg['media_extension'][]          = 'm4a';
$cfg['media_extension'][]          = 'mp3';
//$cfg['media_extension'][]          = 'mpc';
//$cfg['media_extension'][]          = 'ofr';
//$cfg['media_extension'][]          = 'ofs';
//$cfg['media_extension'][]          = 'ogg';
//$cfg['media_extension'][]          = 'wma';
//$cfg['media_extension'][]          = 'wmv';
//$cfg['media_extension'][]          = 'wv';
//$cfg['media_extension'][]          = 'avi';
//$cfg['media_extension'][]          = 'mpeg';
//$cfg['media_extension'][]          = 'mpg';
Good luck,

Willem
Shizzle
User
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 9:00 am
Location: Gresham, OR USA
Contact:

Post by Shizzle »

Ok I will give that a shot.

what is the best overall format for music files? I want to convert all my music to one format but not really sure which format. Does this just depend on the person and what they want or is there a format that is better than all the rest? I guess I will google this and research it

Know of a good media converter? One that is able to convert mass amount of files?

Thanks once again.
User avatar
wbartels
netjukebox developer
Posts: 872
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 3:12 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by wbartels »

Shizzle wrote:Ok I will give that a shot.

what is the best overall format for music files? I want to convert all my music to one format but not really sure which format. Does this just depend on the person and what they want or is there a format that is better than all the rest? I guess I will google this and research it

Know of a good media converter? One that is able to convert mass amount of files?

Thanks once again.
Never convert lossless audio (mp3, ogg, mpc, etc...) to another lossless audio format!!!
You will always loose quality.
If you rip audio from an original CD or lossless audio than OGG Vorbis is a good choice.

If you have lossless audio (wav, flac, ape, etc...) you can convert them to another lossless audio format without loosing quality.
FLAC is my choice for lossless audio: http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?title=FLAC

If you want to know more about audio formats, this is a good starting point:
http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php ... io_Formats
http://wiki.hydrogenaudio.org/index.php?title=Lossless

I use Frontah to convert between different audio formats: http://home.vxu.se/mdati00/frontah/
Shizzle
User
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 9:00 am
Location: Gresham, OR USA
Contact:

Post by Shizzle »

Willem,

I did exactly as you said with commenting all the media types and leaving one on at a time then doing the update. It still beeped at me or that error sound that windows makes. I also noticed that if I delete the folder causing the problem it wont allow me to due it saying that the .jpg file is in use. When I shutdown apache it doesn't shutdown, so I have to use task manager to end the process, then I am able to delete, actually I just removed the folder from the media directory that is configured in NJB.

So I deleted the troublesome images and put the folder back into the directory that NJB scans and SUCCESS! I just wish I knew what was wrong with the image. Oh well at least I know that in the future to remove the image and then scan if it gives me problems.

Do you think that this could be because of GD2 conflicts? Just curious. But hopefully this will help anyone else who has this problem.

I believe that this problem arose from downloading images from websites for the album cover (image.jpg or folder.jpg). I know that if you open the troublesome image in your favorite image editor and resave it as a jpg this will fix it as well.

I have a lot of artists that have albums in the underground, and it is sometimes very hard to locate the album cover if allmusic.com doesn't have it.

Well thanks for your help Willem. You the man :lol:

Sorry for the long post.
User avatar
wbartels
netjukebox developer
Posts: 872
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 3:12 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Error Reporting?

Post by wbartels »

Shizzle wrote:Is there a way to turn on error reporting?
The current release reports getID3() errors.
Locked