Streaming

General discussion about netjukebox
Post Reply
allankok
User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 9:47 pm
Location: Denmark

Streaming

Post by allankok »

I'm running the netjukebox from a Linux/Apache server.
Have anyone got streaming to work on a Linux server? It works fine through httpQ

Regards
Allan
User avatar
wbartels
netjukebox developer
Posts: 872
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 3:12 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by wbartels »

Streaming should also work on Linux.
You only need to download command line: lame, oggdec, oggenc, flac, etc.. for Linux.
And update the path and extensions in "include/config.inc.php" so they are compatible with Linux.
Something like this:

Code: Select all

//Windows
$cfg['decode_stdout']['mp3']        = 'D:\Console\Codec\lame.exe --decode --silent %source -';

//Linux
$cfg['decode_stdout']['mp3']        = 'bin/codec/lame --decode --silent %source -';
If you have MP3 files you can try out "source" streaming without the need of any command line encoder/decoder.

Good luck,

Willem
allankok
User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 9:47 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by allankok »

wbartels wrote: If you have MP3 files you can try out "source" streaming without the need of any command line encoder/decoder.
I have right now only MP3 files, so I will start with "source" streming, but how do I do this?

Allan
User avatar
wbartels
netjukebox developer
Posts: 872
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 3:12 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by wbartels »

allankok wrote:I have right now only MP3 files, so I will start with "source" streming, but how do I do this?
If you have logged in, click on "User: username" on the bottom of the page.
And then you can select "source" for streaming.
In the next netjukebox version these settings will be moved to the "config" tab.

Willem
allankok
User
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 9:47 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by allankok »

wbartels wrote:If you have logged in, click on "User: username" on the bottom of the page.
And then you can select "source" for streaming.
In the next netjukebox version these settings will be moved to the "config" tab.
Thanx works perfect, lateon I will try to get lame to work

Allan
Acedeal
User
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 9:50 pm

Post by Acedeal »

I can not get this app to work either-
Linux server

which lame
/usr/local/bin/lame

PHP 5.0.4 (cli) (built: Nov 8 2005 08:27:12)
Copyright (c) 1997-2004 The PHP Group

Apache/2.0.54 (Fedora)

mysql
mysql Ver 14.7 Distrib 4.1.16, for redhat-linux-gnu (i386) using readline 4.3

All running on Fedora 4, with all yum updates applied.

--
It did it's thing, added all the 5000 songs to the database etc.
I just can not get it to stream. When clicking on a song it want's to download some mpu file. Using firefox as the browser.

this is added
//Linux
$cfg['decode_stdout']['mp3'] = '/usr/local/bin/lame --decode --silent %source -';

Anyone got this thing running on a true linux server? and if so, what needs to be added changed, configured etc.

Thanks!
User avatar
wbartels
netjukebox developer
Posts: 872
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 3:12 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by wbartels »

> this is added
> //Linux
> $cfg['decode_stdout']['mp3'] = '/usr/local/bin/lame --decode --silent %source -';
I hope you mean changed not added ;-)

Don't forget to change the Stream section in include/config.inc.php

Code: Select all

$cfg['stream_extension'][]          = 'mp3';
$cfg['stream_name'][]               = 'MP3 @ 64 kbps';
$cfg['stream_encode'][]             = '/usr/local/bin/lame --abr 64 --id3v2-only --ta %artist --tt %title --tc %comment --noreplaygain -t --silent - -';
$cfg['stream_max_channels'][]       = 2;
$cfg['stream_transcode_treshold'][] = 65000;

$cfg['stream_extension'][]          = 'mp3';
$cfg['stream_name'][]               = 'MP3 @ Portable';
etc...
Let me know if streaming with transcoding is working now.
Acedeal
User
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 9:50 pm

Post by Acedeal »

Oh yea, comments out the windoz part when I added the linux stuff :)

Code: Select all

$cfg['decode_stdout']['ape']        = 'D:\Console\Codec\MACpipe.exe %source - -d';
$cfg['decode_stdout']['flac']       = 'D:\Console\Codec\flac.exe --decode --silent --stdout %source';
//$cfg['decode_stdout']['mp3']      = '/usr/local/bin/lame --decode --silent %source -';
$cfg['decode_stdout']['mpc']        = 'D:\Console\Codec\mppdec.exe --silent %source -';
$cfg['decode_stdout']['ofr']	  = 'D:\Console\Codec\ofr.exe --decode --silent %source --output -'; 
$cfg['decode_stdout']['ofs']	  = 'D:\Console\Codec\ofs.exe --decode --silent %source --output -'; 
$cfg['decode_stdout']['ogg']        = 'D:\Console\Codec\oggdec.exe --quiet %source --output -';
$cfg['decode_stdout']['wma']        = 'D:\Console\Codec\wmadec.exe -w %source';
$cfg['decode_stdout']['wv']         = 'D:\Console\Codec\wvunpack.exe -q %source -';

//Linux
$cfg['decode_stdout']['mp3']        = '/usr/local/bin/lame --decode --silent %source -';
and changed that also

Code: Select all

$cfg['stream_extension'][]          = 'mp3';
$cfg['stream_name'][]               = 'MP3 @ 64 kbps';
$cfg['stream_encode'][]             = '/usr/local/bin/lame --abr 64 --id3v2-only --ta %artist --tt %title --tc %comment --noreplaygain -t --silent - -';
$cfg['stream_max_channels'][]       = 2;
$cfg['stream_transcode_treshold'][] = 65000;
still no go.

running lame
LAME 32bits version 3.97 (beta 2, Jan 3 2006) (http://www.mp3dev.org/)

still no luck though-
stat's and etc work

Code: Select all

Quantity:  	 	 	
	Number of albums: 	323 		
	Number of discs: 	323 		
	Number of tracks: 	3487 		
	Filesize: 	
	Total filesize: 	13.49 GB 		
	Total decoded audio: 	137.80 GB 		
	Playtime: 	
	Playtime mp2: 	03:07 	(0.0 %) 	
	Playtime mp3: 	226:23:35 	(96.3 %) 	
	Playtime wma: 	8:20:34 	(3.5 %) 	
	Playtime jpg: 	00:00 	(0.0 %) 	
	Playtime wmv: 	13:30 	(0.1 %) 	
	Total playtime: 	235:00:45 	(100,0 %) 	
Just can not get it to play anything
Acedeal
User
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 9:50 pm

Post by Acedeal »

Maybe getting a little further--who knows as this was designed with windoz in mind :)

Code: Select all

bitstream problem: resyncing...
mpg123: Can't rewind stream by 2 bits!
bitstream problem: resyncing...
mpg123: Can't rewind stream by 170 bits!
mpg123: Can't rewind stream by 3 bits!
sh: D:ConsoleDAODAO.EXE: command not found
guess i need to find the linux port of DAODAO.EXE what ever that is.
User avatar
wbartels
netjukebox developer
Posts: 872
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 3:12 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by wbartels »

Acedeal wrote:Maybe getting a little further--who knows as this was designed with windoz in mind :)

Code: Select all

bitstream problem: resyncing...
mpg123: Can't rewind stream by 2 bits!
bitstream problem: resyncing...
mpg123: Can't rewind stream by 170 bits!
mpg123: Can't rewind stream by 3 bits!
sh: D:ConsoleDAODAO.EXE: command not found
This has nothing to do with Windows/Linux but with the client.
Seeking (rewind) is not supported.
Try out another mp3 client.

Acedeal wrote: guess i need to find the linux port of DAODAO.EXE what ever that is.
Maybe: cdrdao
http://sourceforge.net/projects/cdrdao/
Acedeal
User
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2006 9:50 pm

Post by Acedeal »

maybe I'm just confused-
I just want it to play music that's on the server-
Not have to worry about what client is installed etc etc..

I'm used to another app where music is on server, guest pushes a few buttons, playlist / favorites, etc is stored in mysql - and music is played via flash player.

Some reason all I can get this app to do is try and download mpu files.
Player sees the mpu, but will not play it, as it's not winamp.
Netjukebox looks like a great app, but just don't have time to figure out how to get it running on a linux enterprise server.

Guess I'm just used to this old antique app I;ve had since about 2004 :)
http://www.dow-gamers.net/dow_mp3/ if you want to see what my users are used to using.

(I'll keep an eye on this thread and see if anyone has gotten this to work on a linux server though-as mentioned would love to switch over, just looks like it's going to be a lot of work finding and configuring it for systems setup like mine)..

Thanks again.
PS, you don't want to add a simple flash player to it do you ? :)
Post Reply