LAMP Configuration .. Need help compling PHP w/ GD2 enabled

General discussion about netjukebox
Post Reply
BigBossMan
User
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 9:27 am
Location: SLC, Utah, USA

LAMP Configuration .. Need help compling PHP w/ GD2 enabled

Post by BigBossMan »

I love my Netjukebox so much I built a beefy server with lots of room to run with.

I am running a RH Fedora code 3, Apache 2.x, PHP 4.3.11, and MySQL 3.23.58.

I have the OS installed and yumed upto date. I have a web page running w/ a test script pulling the phpinfo(). I also have webmin install and I can attach to the database, see and create records.

When I fire off NJ from a browser, I receive the GD2 not supported error, complie PHP w/ GD2 support

I have tried compiling with the following command:

./configure --with-gd

and have also tried:

./configure --with-gd2

The phpinfo() on my working NJ shows a section as GD. I cannot find that section on the LAMP box.

When running the gd2 switch it compiles all the way to the end, yet does not work.
When running the gd switch it does not compile, throwing a libpng.so not found.

For all of you linux guru's out there, what is the proper command to compile PHP and enabling the GD2 support?

I fear that I have come to an end, and cannot get this LAMP box to run NJ. Crying shame to, cause this baby is a monster.

BBM :?
BigBossMan
User
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 9:27 am
Location: SLC, Utah, USA

REPLY

Post by BigBossMan »

Found that after trying to compile php six ways from Sunday to include gd2 support (./configure --with-gd='path' && make && make install) that all I needed to do was run the yum (yum install php-gd).

The GD2 is included in php 4.3.11 but does not show up under phpinfo(), after running the yum command and restarting the httpd (/etc/init.d/httpd restart ), it was there.

Also found that pdflib is not included, but was simple enough to fix:

Get the pdflib from http://www.pdflib.com (ver6) extract it and move pdflib_php.so (for the correct version of php 4 or 5) to the extension directory listed in the /etc/php.ini. Next edit the php.ini with:

extension = pdflib_php.so

restart the web server and it worked great.

Still have an issue with forward slash vs. backslash in the config.inc.php
Will start another thread for that...
User avatar
wbartels
netjukebox developer
Posts: 872
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2004 3:12 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by wbartels »

Thanks for posting your solution :)
Post Reply